Recent BME Student Awards and Honors: Spring 2011

A number of BME students are the recipients of various awards and fellowships this spring semester. Below are listed some of the many achievements of our talented students.

Adam Maxwell and Hesam Jahanian are both recipients of a Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship for the year 2011-2012.

A graduate student team lead by BME’s Ram Rao, Sasha Cai Lesher-Perez, Jeremy Holzwarth, Patrick Ingram, and Josh White have won first place in this year’s GLEQ (Great Lakes Entrepreneur’s Quest) competition (New Business Idea). Their team, STIgma Free, provides point of care solutions promoting the availability, accessibility, and ease of use for point of health diagnostics.

Annie Mitsak, a pre-doctoral candidate in, Prof. Scott Hollister’s Scaffold Tissue Engineering Group, received the TEAM (Tissue Engineering at Michigan) Tissue Engineering Training Grant to continue her research.

Bobak Mosadegh working with Professor Shu Takayama in The Micro/Nano/Molecular Biotechnology Lab won the ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award for his dissertation titled “Design and Fabrication of Integrated Microfluidic Circuits Using Normally-Closed Elastomeric Valves”

There were a number of BME’s among the 2011 College of Engineering Leaders and Honors award recipients. These students stood out among their peers for their academic and co-curricular achievements. Kunal Mehta and Boyang Zhao won the Distinguished Leadership Undergraduate Award. Carl McGill, Auresa Thomas, and Amanda Xi share the Distinguished Leadership Graduate Award. Zubair Ahsan won the Harry Benford Award. Julie Foucher won the Undergraduate Distinguished Achivement Award. Yazan Billeh received the Graduate Distinguished Achievement Award. Jessie Carr won the Roger M. Jones Poetry Contest and Fellowship. Katherine Lu took home the William H. Mack Memorial Engineering Prize. Auresa Thomas won the Marian Sarah Parker Prize – Graduate.

Tags: , , , ,

This entry was posted by Brandon Baier on Wednesday, March 16th, 2011 at 3:14 pm and is filed under All News, Student/Post-Doc News.